top of page

Should Mayor Robbie Skinner Allow City Councilman David McCauley to Issue a Statement?

October 21, 2022

Mountaineer News

Buckhannon City Council

ONLINE POLL

BUCKHANNON - During the October 18th City Council meeting:


"Finally, Mr. Skinner, I have a short statement I’d like to read. On September 30th, my home was searched by authorities. I’ve been entirely cooperative and forthcoming...” was all Councilman David W. McCauley was able to say regarding the FBI raid of his home before being interrupted by Mayor Robbie Skinner.


“David, I’m not sure that this is the appropriate place to talk about this. We talk about the business of the city and the agenda. I’m not sure this is the right platform,” Skinner said.


“I’ve got three sentences; that’s all I have,” McCauley retorted as Councilman Dave Thomas stated, “I think we should listen to the mayor. That’s my opinion.”


"Okay. I will defer to my colleagues on Council," McCauley concluded.


Mountaineer News has attempted to contact Councilman McCauley for comment but has received no response.


Mayor Skinner told members of the media that he permits only matters of city business to be discussed, and that this is a personal matter with Councilman McCauley.


Let us know your thoughts!


Watch the video and take our poll:

Should Mayor Skinner allow Councilman David McCauley to make his prepared statement during the next City Council Meeting?

  • YES! LET THE MAN SPEAK

  • NO! THE MAYOR IS CORRECT

  • I HAVE NO OPINION ON THE MATTER


Comentários


bottom of page